two more weeks of winter

By now you’ve heard that Phil predicted a short winter. But maybe you didn’t know that we can’t always trust a groundhog a.k.a. woodchuck a.k.a. cute rodent to make sweeping climactic predictions for the continental United States. It turns out we can’t trust him 60% of the time.

From a National Geographic article on the 125th anniversary of Punxsutawney Phil’s antics:

While Phil’s proponents maintain that his predictions are 100 percent accurate, the U.S. National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) has estimated that Phil is correct only about 40 percent of the time.

My head says ‘numbers!’ but my heart says ‘spring!’. So I’m thinking that our three-day warming trend here in Minneapolis will continue unbroken into the warm summer months. And now I have a groundhog to back me up in this assertion. I have a feeling I’ll believe this even when the highs of 10 degrees come back next week.

[Disclaimer: please note that I’m not ungrateful to Winter for toughening me up ever so slightly. Winter has been very instructive and character-building.]

About this entry