col. mustard in the conservatory with the candlestick

For the past couple months, the theme of many of my activities could be described as ‘things I should do before I leave Chicago’. Having a moving date (Sunday!) adds a certain urgency to one’s remaining time in a locale, I’ve always found.

So earlier this week, Annie took me to her favorite spot in Chicago, the Garfield Park Conservatory. I rode the green line for perhaps the first time. Extremely green pictures follow:

the palm room was like palm sunday except i didn't take home a palm as a souvenir

little turtles hanging out in the pond put the fern room's awesome quotient off the charts

i get excited whenever i see happytrees (forgive me for not knowing the latin name), since i had one in college; mine was admittedly a little less sprightly than these

i was tempted to buy this plant's baby in the gift shop and turn my new apartment into a jungle; then i remembered i'm on a buying-things moratorium until after my move

The day before, Claire and I did the screen printing that we had been meaning to do for a while. She documented the whole experience on her own fabulous blog. Seriously, go have a look. You’ll be impressed. Cat pictures gratis. Lots of posts about books gratis. I know you all like books.

Update: As per Commenter #1’s request, here is a senior portrait-esque pic of me at the conservatory. Good thing Annie caught me being my candid self by the sunflowers!

that beaming face makes even the sunflower look moody

About this entry