return to the homeland

purty view in custer

My long weekend was a wide-ranging tour of South Dakota– that means I drove past a lot of corn fields and grazing cows to get to the various points of interest, including my sister’s new home in teeny-tiny Huron and the ‘cabin’ near teeny-tiny Custer. My favorite part was maybe canoeing, or making (and eating) pie, or meeting the pup:

he's even cute when his ear is inside-out

The long drives (I was not behind the wheel, I might say) gave me lots of time to read the following fabulous book, which all of you should read, too:

It’s very funny in a quiet way. For instance, in one scene a character unknowingly repeats to a third party something his friend said to him 50 pages ago, and the author remarks that he had the feeling like he heard that very thing somewhere before. The narrator tends to make snide comments and thought-provoking comments in about equal measure, but always with the utmost affection for the characters. Possibly my favorite line in the book: ” ‘They do like me. You can’t be mistaken about that. About being loved, yes, about being liked, no.’ ”

It might also be said that, the fact that I liked a book set in Italy (far from my favorite country) says something about its multiple redeeming qualities. Although the author is English, so take that for what you will. It’s also set in 1955, which is about the chronological midway point between The Second Sex and season three of Mad Men, which I netflixed and adored a couple weeks ago.

Ending deep/ petulant thought from Innocence: “It struck him that both Marta and Chiara took advantage of him by attacking him with their ignorance, or call it innocence. A serious thinking adult had no defence against innocence because he was obliged to respect it, whereas the innocent scarcely knows what respect is, or seriousness either.”

About this entry