finished!

I finished a granny square afghan, which is starting its journey up to AK today:

kitters encouraged me to pace myself

i may have watched an x-men and x-men 2 marathon whilst sewing all the squares together

this section represents my perplexity regarding what is going on with wolverine's hair

I also finished The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, which is superb. SUPERB. Two Jewish boys in NYC create a superhero to battle Nazis while the US was still prevaricating between engagement and isolation. (And how can I not mention that Inglourious Basterds would complement the flavors of Kavalier and Clay very nicely?) He is called The Escapist, so naturally the whole thing is about escapism. But I think the dominant strain of superheros can be read not just as escapism (which Chabon convincingly suggests is worthwhile in its own right) but also as demonstrating the archetypal path toward Wisdom (a la Cynthia ‘Why do I have so many superfluous letters in my last name?’ Bourgeault).

Bear with me: superheros start as social outcasts before they discover their superpowers (at least, the Escapist did, and Spider-man did, and I bet others did). In other words, their egos have taken a beating their whole lives, and they’re necessarily not as much on the path of ego-building as normal folks. Their transformation into superhero clearly signifies the death of the ego. It seems to me that the superpowers don’t merely facilitate a strengthening of the ego precisely because superheros aren’t all about revenge and self-interest. They’re clearly all about saving humanity, fighting for the underdog, fighting the good fight, etc, etc. They discovered the Wisdom Way of Knowing, if you will, by letting go of their small selves and opening up to the strength of inner wisdom. Or something. But no really.

Completing the trifecta of finished things this weekend, it also appears that the yearlong health care debate is finished. What will I think about now?

About this entry