it’s appalling

but we’re not hopeless yet.

Appalling thing #1: The past couple weeks have shown that a bad Supreme Court and a bad political system is happening to a good country. If you’re as depressed about this as I am, I think you should watch this question time with the President that a lot of people are talking about. It’ll make you feel less doom and gloom. What else are you going to do for the next hour?

justice kennedy makes me want to hide in a giant cowl

Appalling thing #2: Apparently a girl can’t buy non-‘sexy’ (and non-boring) underwear anymore. I never thought I would be one of those people who would make undies, but I am now one of them, folks. I’m doing a little pattern redrafting, and hopefully in the next week I’ll be riding a wave of undie-making bliss. Pictures would be a little tmi, but trust me, they’re going to be fabulous.

down with sexy undies, up with kooky flowered undies

Truly not appalling at all: The BBC show Yes, Minister is streaming on Netflix, and it’s hilarious. A sampling:

Jim: I’m appalled.
Sir Humphrey: You’re appalled? I’m appalled.
Jim: I just can’t believe it I’m … I’m appalled. What do you make of it Bernard?
Bernard: I’m appalled.
Jim: So am I, appalled.
Sir Humphrey: (after a pause) It’s appalling.
– episode “The Writing on the Wall”

Update: I finished these undies last night and they turned out surprisingly comfy and perfect. Yay!

witty caption about airing dirty laundry

About this entry