i love regulatory situations

From what I gather, that puts me in the minority.

From a very interesting NYTimes article about where hamburgers come from:

>>The food safety officer at American Foodservice, which grinds 365 million pounds of hamburger a year, said it stopped testing trimmings a decade ago because of resistance from slaughterhouses. “They would not sell to us,” said Timothy P. Biela, the officer. “If I test and it’s positive, I put them in a regulatory situation. One, I have to tell the government, and two, the government will trace it back to them. So we don’t do that.”<<

Later on there’s a great quote from someone in the USDA saying yeah, he could force companies to test for E. coli, but that would place quite a large burden on their struggling operations. After all, he has to “look at the entire industry, not just what is best for public health”. Gotta love those priorities, right? Keep us proud, USDA.

Also, just as a side note, the beef is not just with beef preparation, but with our whole convoluted system of food production. I don’t want to get all conspiracy theory on my blog readers, but eating processed food amounts to gambling with your health. All thanks to the lack of regulatory situations. Lame!

Addendum: Hey, look! Another interesting article about food safety, this time about fruits and veggies rather than just beef. And now I have to also link to this more tongue-in-cheek list of foods that are trying to kill you (naturally). Happy eating!

About this entry