just hot enough for cupcakes

I’ve had a one-track mind in these last few posts, and finally, last night, I was able to satisfy my craving for cupcake-baking and -eating. Hilsary and I met up after a long, strenuous day at our respective workplaces and made cupcakes (oh, and dinner– yummy pasta salad with roasted red pepper dressing, which was all the Hils) at her home base in Logan Square. Buttermilk cupcakes with maple cream cheese frosting. Delish. Ous.

First we needed supplies: lots o’ butter and eggs and buttermilk and, naturally, PBR (no, these are not beer cupcakes). We went to the charming local grocery, which had questionable puddles in the frozen foods aisle, lots of half-filled shelves, and an amazing beer selection. It quite reminded me of the market I always went to last summer, which also seemed to take a few of the most random grocery categories and do them really well, to the exclusion of others. My market had huge variety in fresh produce, olives & capers, dried beans, and Little Debbie snack options (the latter I didn’t appreciate as much)– was not so great in the bread, flour, beer, and frozen foods departments. You win some, you lose some.

not exactly helping

not exactly helping

lots o' cupcakes ready for the oven

lots o' cupcakes ready for the oven

we're really excited about these cupcakes

we're really excited about these cupcakes

They were tasty + extremely satisfying. I’m going to lay off the posts about cupcakes for a while.

About this entry